Faculty/Staff Program Leadership Team

Birgit Junfin Glass

Birgit GlassDr. Birgit Junfin Glass is Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs at UT Health Science Center San Antonio School of Dentistry.  Dr. Glass has been an active member of the dental and allied education community in a variety of roles for over 35 years.  She received her D.D.S. degree from the UTHSCSA Dental School in 1975 and a M.S. degree from the UTHSCSA Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences in 1983.  She has been a member of the faculty since in 1975, and Associate Dean since 1995. Her academic appointment is in the Department of  Comprehensive Dentistry (formerly Dental Diagnostic Science). She is a diplomate of both the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology (ABOMR) and the American Board of Oral Medicine (ABOM).  Dr. Glass is past-president of both the International Association of Dento-Maxillo-Facial Radiology (IADMFR) and the American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology (AAOMR).  Additionally, she has served as Councilor for both the sections of OMR and Academic Affairs of the American Dental Education Association (ADEA).  She is a fellow of the International College of Dentists (ICD) and the American College of Dentists (ACD). She received the distinguished alumnus award in 1988.  Currently she serves the ADA Commission on Accreditation as the curriculum consultant and she serves as a member of the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations.  She is author of a text entitled ‘Vamos al Dentista’ and she continues various scholarly activities in addition to her administrative role.

Department: Dental Deans Office
Bldg/Rm: HSC-School of Dentistry/4.322R